Building a bridge between clients and authorities

Building a bridge between clients and authorities is one of the aspects of Certified Translation. Usually, the clients need official documents translated and certified to be included in an application with the Government. Each country has its own rules, and we, as translators must know those rules to be able to do our job properly. However, we cannot advise our clients on what is required of them by those governments because we do not represent those agencies, we are not advisers and it goes against our AUSIT Code of Conduct. So how can we build this bridge without destroying our career?

It’s a fine line

You must provide the best service to your clients, but you cannot advise them on the choices they make, that is up to them. I know it’s hard to deal with something like this, especially when you work with a naturally consultative culture, like for example the Portuguese. Portuguese people always like to ask for your advice. It is a way of getting that reassurance that they are doing the right thing.

Another factor adding to this problem is the lack of clear information provided by those governments. Clients may hear conflicting messages or get instructions that may be confusing to them.  In this case, those who don’t speak the language of that country get more affected, since they do not fully know the culture and cannot speak their language. But the native speakers are not immune to it either, since they too get confused sometimes.

We, as translators, cannot tell them what they need to do or advise them on the requirements of their application. It is a fine line, so how can we solve this problem?

How can we be ethically and culturally fit?

Over the last 14 years, I have been dealing with this problem almost every day. I got my clients asking me what they should do and I know I cannot advise them on that because it goes against my Code of Ethics. Moreover, I also get confused by the lack of clarity so, even if I could give them that advice, I am not well equipped to do so, as sometimes, I am as confused as they are about it.

My approach has always been a neutral one. I tell the client I am not allowed to provide any consultive services and also that I am not equipped to do so, since I do not work for or represent those governments to be able to advise on their behalf. Then I refer the client to the relevant authority’s website.

This way, I ensure I am not breaching my Code of Ethics, but I am still providing great customer service by explaining why I cannot provide them with that information. Although this is quite frustrating for clients and translators alike, the lack of clear information by some Governments is likely to be here to stay, so all we can do is ensure we do our best for our clients and provide them with the information they need to get the right advice, and that is contacting the relevant authorities themselves.

Leave a comment